My Weekly Journal

Week of Jan. 24 - Jan. 28

Memories from Mass This Week

This week at Mass, I remember that Fr. O'Brien was speaking about the common principle that when we are seeking to make a change in our lives, we should consider what our "whys" are. He said that when considering our dedication to our practice of the Catholic Faith, there is in fact a deeper principle. Beyond analyzing our "whys," we, like Saul of Tarsus, should ask the Lord Jesus, "Who are you, sir?" In receiving His answer in prayer, our hearts will be transformed. This has changed the way I look at mass.How we just don't go throgh the steps because we are told too but so out heart can be transformed by Jesus and God. The principle of the whys are what our lifes mater. Why do we go to school, why do we pray, why do we believe in God. These are the most inportant things we must think before we are doing something.

The Week of Feb. 14 - Feb. 18.

News Around STM

The highschool of Saint Thomas More has had two five days not in school in a row alredy this month. Some of these days were virtual learning days but we were able to stay at home. This was because of the snow storms that have hit Champaign, Illinois. The Saint Thomas More girls basketball team won their regional championship this week. Their first sectional game is Tuesday, February 22. Our Saint Thomas More boys basketball team won their first game of regionals. Their second game of regionals is Wednesday, February 23.

We did not have school on.

This is because of a snow day, the weekend, and Presidents Day. There has also been a new club formed. It is called film club. You can learn how to film, act, edit and much more. Finally we had Adoration Chapel on Wednesday, February 16. This allowed us to confess our sins, pray, and be in the presence of Jesus.

Week of Feb. 22 - Feb. 25.

The Chicago Bulls

The Chicago Bulls are on the five game winning streak. This has allowed them to tie for first place in the Eastern Conference and tied for fourth in the entire NBA. Our record this year is 38 wins and 21 loses. This gives us a .644 winning percentage. If the Chicago Bulls keep up this great work they will make the playoffs. This past weekend was all-star weekend. Ayo Dosunmu played in the rising stars game. Zach Lavine participated in the three-point contest. Demar Derozen and Zach Lavine made the all-star game.

Here is a list of the top five teams in the NBA.

The Chicago Bulls were not supposed to be this good. And it was a pleasant surprise. With the signings of Alex Caruso, Demar Derozen, and Derek Jones Jr. We also drafted Ayo Dosunmu in the second round of the NBA draft. With the Chicago Bulls looking like they are a dynasty and are going to be a force in the playoffs this year.

Week of 2/28-3/4 A.D. 2022

The month of March, the weather, and lent.

I am excited for spring break this month. I will be going to Florida with my family and also see some of my friends there. I will also miss school this Friday so I can drive over there. I am extremely excited and it will give me a nice break from school. I think it will be good for everyone to have a break from the daily routine.

The weather has been very wierd recently. We have had the weather in the low sixties and been in the twenties. We have had snow, rain, sunny, cloudy, and much more. I am very surprised that we have had so much snow but there was no snow in December.

The Lenten season is coming up and there are three important themes.

This season allows us to grow in virtue and grow our relationship with God. This allows us to pray and take more time out of our day to give thanks for what God and Jesus have done for us. Lent is the time when we prepare our hearts for the death and resurrection of our Savior, Jesus Christ.

Week of Mar. 21 - Mar, 25, 2022.

What I did over spring break.

I went to Florida over spring break. I was near Orlando and I went on roller coasters. I thought it was very fun and it was a nice break from the day to day work. I enjoy being in the nice weather and it allowed me to speend good, quality time with my family. I hope that I will have another break soon so I can do so more fun activities with my family.

News Aroung Stm

There has been a lot more sports starting up at Saint Thomas More highschool. There is softball, girls soccer, baseball, and boys tennis. I hope that all of the athletic teams do good this year and make it to state.

Week of April 4-8.

What I am doing for Holy Week.

I will be attening many masses this week. I will got to Palm Sunday, Good Friday, and Easter Sunday. I can not wait to celebrate Jesus' resuraction. It is an exciting time for everyone in the faith. I am extremely excited because I haev grown in faith recently and this will help me strengthen my faith with our Lord. Here is a list of my favorite days in Lent.

This is a time to profess God and praise Him.

Week of

Week of April 25-29

The Weather

The weather has been wierd recently. It has been raining like usual during the Spring time but it has also been suprisingly cold.